New album: Okkervil River

Sheff and country rock team-mates return to the gym...

Okkervil River have announced details of the band's follow-up to 2009's I Am Very Far. Artwork, tracklisting, release date and two new tracks have all been rolled out as a precursor to the Texan's seventh record. As frontman and chief songwriter Will Sheff is prone to - and skilfully adept at - doing, The Silver Gymnasium is a concept album set way back in 1986 Meriden, New Hampshire (NH) or in Sheff's words "a tribute to the spirit of pre-adolescence, meant to evoke the nostalgic feeling of an action figure you found in the woods."

Full tracklist for The Silver Gymnasium

01. It Was My Season
02. On A Balcony
03. Down Down the Deep River
04. Pink-Slips
05. Lido Pier Suicide Car
06. Where the Spirit Left Us
07. White
08. Stay Young
09. Walking Without Frankie
10. All The Time Every Day
11. Black Nemo

The official video for back-to-what-they-do-best 'It Was My Season' and slow-burn instrumental composition 'Lido Pier Suicide Car' are both available to stream using the players below.


For more on Okkervil River visit:

- Okkervil River release The Silver Gymnasium in Ireland on Friday, 27th September 2013

Follow The G-Man on:
Facebook -- Twitter -- Pinterest -- Mixcloud -- This Is My Jam -- exfm -- Soundcloud -- Bloglovin'

Follow on Bloglovin